NO!


Team AO,

I know that the Men of Alpha Omega will be getting together on Friday night to discuss the Cashflow Quadrant, but I cannot wait to share some of the points that I have gleaned from this fabulous book. I have been re-reading this classic book in preparation for the meeting, and something jumped off of the page and slapped me the other day.

Often I will see individuals start off building the business on fire only to see them slow down to a simmer after the sting of a couple of NO’s. They then fall deeper and deeper into the pit of complacency until finally they seek that which is comfortable…”Security”. So how does one person experience rejection and fall into an unrelenting spiral of despair, while others experience that same rejection and spring forward into a bright new future? According to Kiyosaki, it’s all in what you are looking for out of life. All human beings experience pain and we all suffer through the emotional ups and downs of chasing a better life. More than ever I understand what TEAM has been teaching me for years. The major difference between failure and success lies in our response to setbacks.

For most Americans, a setback causes them to shrink into the familiar territory of day to day living and check to check existence. For many the doldrums of 95% living provide a safe haven and the security of not having to hear “NO” allows them to sleep better at night. Many would rather avoid the “NO” today in order to experience the “NO” for a lifetime. What does this mean? I have come to a point in my life where I am tired of hearing “NO”!

I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can we go out for a nice dinner tonight?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Daddy can we go on a Disney vacation?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can you afford to help with this bill?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can we have the steak and lobster?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can you volunteer for this program?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can I have a raise?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can I have Thursday and Friday off?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can I have a promotion?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can you please not lay me off?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can we get a new car?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can we talk without arguing about money?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can we go to a better school?
I am tired of hearing NO to the question… Can you stay home from work today?

You get my point? At some point all of us as leaders have to ask ourselves the tough question… Are we willing to take some NO’s in order to give ourselves some Yes’s? Are we willing to resist the temptation of retreating into our comfort zone long enough to push through to the victory of freedom? So what are you and I made of? Are we in hot pursuit of our freedom or are we allowing our emotions to drive us to a false security? Only our actions will tell… Get used to NO in the short term, or learn to accept NO for a long time. It’s our choice.

Please share your thoughts

