Where do we start?

Team AO,

As we approach the New Year I am reminded of a scripture from the Bible

Phillipians 3:13-14: Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but [this] one thing [I do], forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

For millions of Americans the New Year represents an opportunity to forget about the past years results for focus squarely on the opportunities that lie ahead of us in 2009. New resolutions and commitments will be made to ourselves and others, but for many the challenge of staying committed to those promises is daunting at best. Where does one start on the journey of change and effective results? It begins with leadership…

As we think about what we want to accomplish in 2009, I would like to provide a bit of insight into laying a foundations of success from which we can build. My children brought me a book entitled “Becoming a Leader”, by Dr. Myles Munroe, and in it he proposes that leadership is the key to success and the process follows a sensible course.

In order to change our results we have to begin with a quest for purpose in our lives. A meaningful, heart melting, fervent purpose provides fuel to our souls and brings about conviction. A person convicted of something can rarely be stopped nor persuaded against their convictions. Often we read of leaders that have convictions so strong that they are able to see a picture of a preferred future, and convey that picture into a real life vision. A leader with a powerful vision can then tell others what the feel and see. That energy and excitement will lead to passion. Passion is what can turn a business into a movement, a group into a team, an organization into an organism. Passion provides inspiration for the individuals caught up into the bigger movement and then the individual can reap the harvest of influence over themselves and others and the rewards of leadership are destined to be theirs.

As we meet to close out 2008, I want to challenge myself and this team to read and study more on leadership then we ever have before. I freely admit that I do not know all of the answers, but this one thing I do know… I plan on forgetting those things that are behind me and reaching for those things that lay ahead of me. I plan on pressing on toward the high calling in my life.

My prayers is that we start this race together, run this race together, and finish this race together.

2 comments

  1. Raymond,What a fantastic post! I absolutely love that scripture. I am ready to start this race, run this race, and finish this race as the head and not the tail! AO AO AO AO

Please share your thoughts

