The price of progress

I have several books in my library of famous quotes thoughout the history of the world, and I ran across this quote today:

“If there is no struggle, there is no progress. Those who profess to favor freedom, and yet deprecate agitation, are men and women who want crops without plowing up the ground. They want rain without the thundering lightning. They want the ocean without the awful roar of its many water. This struggle may be a moral one; or it may be a physical one; or it may be both moral and physical; but it must be a struggle. Power concedes nothing without a demand!” — Fredrick Douglass

As I read over these words it reminds me of so many people that I run across in life. Most of us if given the opportunity to truly dream can paint a vivid portrait of what we want most of our time on earth. It may start with the material trappings of wealth, and also include the relief of debt removal, and of course the ever popular job optional. Many dream of vacations to exotic lands and the relaxation of a warm breeze off the ocean soothing them to sleep as they rock in a hammock. Many people want the freedom to spend time with those that they care about the most. To be a stay at home mom or dad, never to miss a recital, game, meet, tournament, drama, or a first day of school. To be able to counter act the negativity that our children unfortunately experience in society. To share invaluable time with our elders gaining wisdom, experience and cherished memories. To donate our talents to our Churches in meaningful ministries that impact our world.

All of this and more are available, but only for those of us that are willing to struggle. To want such niceties from life and not be willing to pay handsomely, reduces one to an Utopian dreamer. I believe that we have one of the best opportunities in the the world to pursue our dreams in TEAM Mona Vie, and those who learn to expect opposition, hardships, setbacks and overall struggle will demand their freedom by their willingness to endure hardness like a good soldier. What are you willing to struggle for in this quest for freedom?

See you on the battlefield in Columbus!

One comment

  1. I am willing to talk to anyone and share with everyone in spite of fear.I am willing to ask questions with a smile about subjects that I care nothing about. “Really why’s that?”I am willing to hold my tongue and accept others with whom I disagree.I am willing to endure any amount of ridicule or rejection.I am willing to listen to the timing of people’s lives and give them space.I am willing to aggressively schedule and reschedule if necessary.I am willing to travel to any town and listen to anyone’s story.I am willing to be excited in spite of temporary set-backs.I am willing to lend and never get it back with a smile for the harvest that lies ahead.I am willing to minimize my disappointments and focus on the next what if.Fired up!Not embracing a meaningful struggle to be better is boring. What you are saying is absolutely true Raymond! Just to clarify so it doesn’t get twisted. There are two kinds of struggles. We are not saying to embrace a wound, a sickness or debt that is just keeping you down. God is in the healing business, not the wounding business. Instead, embrace the struggle for something – the struggle to remove burdens and destroy yokes. Embrace the struggle to connect with our fellow man and help someone. Embrace the struggle to heal, feel better and get stronger. The struggle to better yourself has much greater rewards than our old struggle caused by our lack of vision, poor choices and sin.

Please share your thoughts

